MacWhisper and superwhisper solve overlapping problems — recorded-audio transcription with system-wide dictation attached — and get shopped against each other constantly for exactly that reason. The real difference between them is less about features, since the lists rhyme more than they diverge, and more about how you'd rather pay: a one-time purchase for MacWhisper's Pro tier, or a subscription (with a lifetime option, at a higher total price) for superwhisper.
Checked 6 September 2026 against macwhisper.com and superwhisper.com.
The table
| MacWhisper | superwhisper | |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | Yes — dictation, file transcription, meeting recording (Zoom, Teams, Webex, Skype, Discord) | Yes — dictation, meeting recording, 100+ languages, unlimited use of its Whisper model |
| Paid tier | €64 one-time, lifetime updates | $8.49/month or $84.99/year |
| Lifetime option | The Pro purchase itself is one-time | Sold separately at $249.99 |
| File formats transcribed | mp3, wav, m4a, ogg, opus, mov, mp4 | Audio and video files, on Pro |
| Speaker recognition | Yes, Pro | Not stated as a named feature |
| Batch transcription | Yes, Pro | Not stated |
| Own AI API keys | No | Yes, Pro |
| Tone / style presets | Grammar improvement on dictation, Pro | Formal, Casual, Legal, Chat presets |
| Translation | Yes, Pro | Yes, to English, Pro |
| Automation | Watched folders, workflow integrations, CLI, Pro | Not stated |
| Platforms | Mac only | Mac, Windows and iOS |
| Dictation in the free tier | Yes, plain dictation | Yes, unlimited use of its model |
Where MacWhisper wins
The one-time price is the whole Pro tier, not a separate SKU. €64 once gets you every Pro feature with lifetime updates — no recurring decision to make later. superwhisper's equivalent one-time option is real but priced separately and higher, at $249.99.
Automation. Watched folders, workflow integrations with Notion, Zapier and Obsidian, and a command-line interface are all specific, named Pro features. superwhisper's page does not describe an equivalent automation layer.
Batch transcription and speaker recognition, named directly as Pro features — useful for anyone processing more than one recording at a time, or identifying who said what in a multi-person recording.
Where superwhisper wins
Two more platforms. Windows and iOS, alongside Mac. MacWhisper is Mac only.
Bring your own AI keys. superwhisper's Pro tier lets you plug in your own API keys for cloud or local models — a level of control over which AI is doing the work that MacWhisper's page does not offer; MacWhisper instead integrates with a list of outside AI services on your behalf.
Tone presets out of the box. Formal, Casual, Legal and Chat modes are named directly on superwhisper's site; MacWhisper's equivalent is a general "grammar improvement" setting rather than named style presets.
A genuinely unlimited free dictation tier. superwhisper states unlimited use of its Whisper model on the free plan. MacWhisper's free tier includes plain dictation but reserves grammar-improved dictation for Pro.
A narrower option, if the overlap isn't what you needed
Both of these are transcription workbenches first, with dictation as one feature living inside a larger app built around recorded audio — files, meetings, batches, speakers. If you don't have a backlog of recordings to process and only wanted the dictation half, that's the entirety of Coii VoiceInput: a $19 one-time hotkey, no free tier, no file transcription, and nothing else in the app to eventually explore.
Pick up the export job configuration from the retro notes before Monday's planning call.
- 1Key downthe target is chosen here
- 2You speaklevel meter, over your work
- 3Key up
- 4Written to historybefore the engine is asked
- 5Engineon your Mac
- 6Typedabout half a second
It has no speaker recognition, no batch processing, no automation and no file transcription of any kind — if any of those matter to you, this comparison was never between three equal options, and MacWhisper or superwhisper is the correct answer regardless of price.
Two different bets about where the AI should live
Underneath the feature lists, MacWhisper and superwhisper have made a similar core bet — that transcription should happen locally by default — and then diverged on what to do about the AI features layered on top of it, like cleanup, translation and grammar improvement. MacWhisper's approach is to integrate with outside AI services on your behalf: you point it at a provider and it handles the plumbing. superwhisper's Pro tier instead lets you supply your own API keys directly, alongside its own cloud or local model options, which hands you more direct control over which AI is doing the work and, often, more direct visibility into what that costs separately from the app itself. Neither approach is more correct. Someone who wants an app to just handle it, without configuring a provider, is better served by MacWhisper's integrations; someone who already has API keys they'd rather reuse, or wants to avoid paying twice for the same underlying model access, is better served by superwhisper's approach.
What a backlog of recordings actually costs to process
Both of these apps exist because recorded audio piles up — client calls, lecture recordings, podcast episodes, interviews — and someone eventually has to turn it into text. The economics of that job look different on each app. MacWhisper's €64 one-time Pro purchase means the marginal cost of transcribing another hour of audio is effectively zero once you've paid, which rewards someone with a large, ongoing backlog: a journalist with a season of interviews, a researcher with years of recorded sessions. superwhisper's subscription model means the same backlog is paid for continuously, which suits someone who wants to spread the cost, or who transcribes in bursts rather than constantly, more comfortably than a large upfront payment would. The $249.99 lifetime option exists precisely to close that gap for people who land on superwhisper's feature set but would rather pay the MacWhisper way.
Batch and automation versus configurability
MacWhisper's Pro tier leans hard into hands-off processing at scale — watched folders that pick up new recordings automatically, batch transcription for clearing a backlog in one pass, and a command-line interface for anyone wiring it into a larger pipeline. That's a specific bet on unattended throughput: point it at a folder and let it work. superwhisper's page emphasises configurability instead — tone presets, named app integrations, bring-your-own API keys — which is a bet on shaping the output more precisely per use, at the cost of not describing the same kind of unattended batch pipeline MacWhisper does. If your actual problem is "I have four hundred hours of audio and need it transcribed while I do something else," MacWhisper's automation story is the more direct answer of the two; if it's "I need transcripts that already sound right for a specific audience," superwhisper's presets are aimed more precisely at that.
What neither one does
Neither app is a system you'd hand off unattended without checking its work. Speaker recognition, batch processing and tone presets all improve the raw transcript, but proper nouns — names, technical terms, anything with an unusual spelling — remain the weak point of speech recognition broadly, and neither vendor's page claims to have solved it outright. A transcript intended for publication or for someone outside the room still wants a read-through. Neither one controls the Mac by voice, either; both convert speech and audio to text and stop there, which is the same boundary Talon sits on the other side of. And neither is free of the microphone-quality problem: a phone recording made across a noisy restaurant table is going to transcribe worse than a close, quiet recording on either app, regardless of which one processed it.
Where a subscription app and a one-time app actually diverge over years
It's worth running the arithmetic plainly, since both apps put a number on the table rather than leaving the comparison abstract. MacWhisper Pro is €64 once. superwhisper Pro is $84.99 a year, which is more than MacWhisper's entire one-time price within the first twelve months and keeps being paid every year after that — unless you take the $249.99 lifetime option, which crosses MacWhisper's price only after roughly three years of the subscription. None of that makes superwhisper worse value; a subscription pays for ongoing model updates and new AI capability without you doing anything, which is a real and continuing benefit a one-time purchase doesn't include in the same way. It does mean the two prices aren't answering the same question, and whichever one looks cheaper depends entirely on how many years you're counting.
The App Store complication, again
Anyone comparing MacWhisper's pricing against another app should know it has two separate storefronts, because it's easy to price-check the wrong one. Alongside the direct €64 Pro purchase at macwhisper.com, the same developer sells Whisper Transcription on the Mac App Store under the name Good Snooze, free with in-app purchases including a $99.99 lifetime Pro unlock, requiring a newer macOS version than the direct download. superwhisper doesn't have this particular complication — its pricing lives in one place, on its own site — but the lesson applies to shopping this whole category generally: check which storefront a price actually belongs to before treating two numbers as comparable.
Where a subscription buys you something a purchase can't
It's easy to read superwhisper's subscription as strictly the more expensive option and stop there, but a subscription is also buying something a one-time purchase structurally can't: continuous access to whichever cloud or local AI model superwhisper adds next, without a new purchase decision each time. MacWhisper's lifetime-updates promise on its one-time Pro tier is a genuinely strong commitment, but "updates" and "ongoing access to new third-party AI capability as it's released" aren't quite the same promise — the former is about the app improving, the latter is about arms-length dependence on whatever model providers do next, which is inherently easier to keep current under a subscription that expects to keep being paid for exactly that reason.
What a working transcriptionist actually weighs
Somebody making a living from transcription — an assistant, a researcher, a small production company — is optimising for a different variable than somebody transcribing their own occasional recordings, and it's worth naming that difference directly. For a person doing this professionally, the per-feature price differences on this page matter less than throughput, reliability on difficult audio, and how well either app's batch and automation tools fit into an existing pipeline they already have — which is precisely the kind of thing no vendor's marketing page settles definitively, and which only shows up by running your own hardest, messiest recording through both apps' free tiers before paying either one.
Reading superwhisper's pricing page, in practice
It's worth flagging a practical wrinkle for anyone trying to verify these numbers directly: superwhisper's pricing is presented as an interactive anchor on its homepage rather than a conventional static pricing page, which makes it noticeably harder to skim or cite than MacWhisper's more straightforward listing. The figures in the table above were checked against superwhisper's own site rather than a third-party summary, but if you go looking for confirmation yourself, expect to need to actually load and scroll the live page rather than trust a cached snapshot of it — a small but real difference in how transparent the two companies' pricing is to someone comparing quickly.
What a language-heavy transcription job actually needs
Both apps claim support for 100 or more languages, which sounds identical on paper and rarely behaves identically in practice, since language support in speech recognition varies enormously by language even within one vendor's stated list — a widely spoken language is typically handled far better than a less common one, on any provider's model. Neither MacWhisper's nor superwhisper's page breaks down accuracy by individual language, so a reader transcribing something outside English, Spanish or another widely used language should treat the "100+ languages" claim on either site as a starting point for testing rather than a guarantee, and should run their own hardest recording through each app's free tier before trusting either one with a job that matters.
The student discount, and who it actually reaches
superwhisper's page lists a 40% student discount on Pro, a detail worth naming because it changes the arithmetic meaningfully for exactly the kind of person likely to have a large backlog of lecture recordings and a tight budget at the same time — a genuinely well-aimed discount. MacWhisper's page does not describe an equivalent student pricing tier for its one-time Pro purchase, though €64 once is already a smaller number for a student to find once than a recurring subscription would be, discounted or not. Which of the two actually costs a student less over a degree's worth of use depends on how many years that degree runs and how heavily the app gets used within it — the same one-time-versus-subscription arithmetic that applies to the rest of this comparison, just with a lower starting number on superwhisper's side of it.
What a first hour with each app actually reveals
The fastest way to settle most of the questions on this page is the most obvious one: install both free tiers and run the same ten-minute recording through each, on a day you also try each app's plain dictation in an app you use constantly. Pricing tables and feature lists are useful for narrowing the field, but neither MacWhisper's page nor superwhisper's page can tell you how either app's transcript handles the specific names, acronyms and turns of phrase that show up in your own recordings — that only shows up by running the test yourself, and it costs nothing to do since both free tiers include real transcription rather than a crippled demo, and the twenty minutes it takes is considerably shorter than living with the wrong choice for a year.
What switching actually costs
Moving between MacWhisper and superwhisper costs you re-doing whatever automation or integrations you set up, since neither reads the other's configuration, plus a trial period to compare transcription accuracy on your own recordings — both offer a way to try before paying for Pro. Neither keeps your original audio in a format the other needs; you'd re-import source files rather than migrate a project.
Who should pick which
Pick MacWhisper if you want every Pro feature behind one €64 payment with no ongoing bill, or automation and batch processing matter to your workflow.
Pick superwhisper if you need Windows or iOS as well as Mac, want to bring your own AI API keys, or tone presets out of the box are worth more to you than automation.
Pick Coii VoiceInput if dictation is the only thing on your list and you'd rather not own a transcription workbench to get it.
For the direct comparisons against this app: Coii VoiceInput vs MacWhisper and Coii VoiceInput vs superwhisper. For the other rival-vs-rival page in this set, see Wispr Flow vs superwhisper. For the dictation-only, one-time-purchase alternative closest to this app's shape, see Coii VoiceInput vs BetterDictation.
Pricing is one line and the download is thirty days, every feature, no card.