Skip to content

Comparison

Two one-time purchases, same key, different machines

Both are one-time-purchase local Mac dictation apps on the same default hotkey. One runs on Intel Macs and one does not. The differences that decide it.

· 13 min read

On this page (11)
  1. Prices and requirements, checked today
  2. The table
  3. Where BetterDictation wins
  4. Where Coii VoiceInput wins
  5. The part where they are the same
  6. A fair way to test them
  7. What neither of them does
  8. The one-time purchase, and what it actually promises
  9. Volume is what makes the small things matter
  10. What switching between them costs
  11. Which one to buy

Start with the funny part: both of these apps default to holding ⌥ Space. If you install both and leave the defaults alone, you will have two dictation tools fighting over one keypress and neither of them will behave. Change one before you trial the other — that is not a criticism of either product, it is just what happens when two people independently pick the most obvious key on the keyboard.

Past that, BetterDictation and this app are the closest pair in the matrix. Both are Mac-only. Both are dictation and nothing else. Both do the transcription on the machine. Both are bought once rather than rented. The comparison comes down to price, hardware, and what each does in the two seconds after you let go of the key.

Prices and requirements, checked today

From their site on 4 September 2026:

  • Basic — $39 lifetime, one device.
  • Flex — $49 lifetime, three devices, with three free months of the Pro add-on and $2 a month billed annually after that.
  • Studio — $149 lifetime, ten devices, with the same three free months and $2 per month per device after.
  • Enterprise — custom, unlimited devices.
  • A 14-day money-back guarantee.

Their FAQ states it is not supported on Intel Macs and relies on the Apple Neural Engine, so an M1 or newer is required, and their site lists Windows as coming soon. The dictation runs on the device with no cloud round-trips; separately, the page says the Pro add-on uses OpenAI to clean and post-process transcripts and therefore needs internet access.

Coii VoiceInput is $19 once, three devices, updates included and nothing renewing. macOS 13 Ventura or later, on Apple Silicon and Intel. Thirty days of the whole app, no card, no account. There is no add-on, no second tier and nothing that becomes a subscription later.

The table

Coii VoiceInput BetterDictation
Price $19 once $39 one device, $49 three, $149 ten
Three devices $19 $49
Recurring cost None Optional Pro at $2/mo, billed annually
Apple Silicon Yes Yes
Intel Macs Yes No — Apple Neural Engine required
Minimum macOS 13 Ventura Not stated on the page
Windows No Stated as coming soon
Languages Several 100+
Transcription on the machine Yes Yes
Anything that needs the network No Pro post-processing does
Grammar and formatting cleanup No Yes, Pro
Toggle-to-talk as well as hold No Yes
Local history of what you said Yes Not described on their site
Words saved before the engine runs Yes Not stated
Target app fixed at key-down Yes Not stated
Clipboard restored after paste Yes Not stated
Money back 30-day trial before paying 14-day guarantee after

Where BetterDictation wins

A hundred languages, against our several. Their site claims 100+ including a range of accents. This app does not claim a comparable range, and if you write in more than one or two languages this is the row that ends the comparison.

Post-processing, if you want it. The Pro add-on does stammer correction, automatic formatting and grammar polish. Some people dictate loosely and want the output tidied; that is a real preference and there is nothing here that does it. The trade they state openly is that it uses OpenAI and needs internet access, so it is the one part of their product that is not local.

Toggle-to-talk for long-form. Holding a key for a four-minute passage is genuinely uncomfortable, and they offer a toggle mode for it. This app is hold-only. If you dictate chapters rather than messages, that matters.

Ten devices for $149. If you are equipping a small studio, their tier structure goes somewhere ours does not — three devices is where we stop.

Windows is on their roadmap. Ours is not on any roadmap. Take that for exactly what a roadmap is worth, which is not a purchase, but it is more than we are offering.

Where Coii VoiceInput wins

It runs on Intel Macs

⌥ Space→ Pages5.4s

The 2019 machine is still the one in the studio, and it is still what the archive files live on.

A 2019 Intel Mac is a perfectly good writing machine and there are a great many of them still in daily use. This is the one row on this page that is a hard yes or a hard no.

BetterDictation's FAQ says plainly that it is not supported on Intel Macs because it relies on the Apple Neural Engine. Coii VoiceInput runs on macOS 13 Ventura or later on Apple Silicon and Intel both.

There is nothing clever about this difference — it is a consequence of what each app is built on — but it is binary. If your Mac is from before Apple silicon, one of these two apps will not install and the rest of this page is academic.

$19 for three devices, against $49

The prices are close enough that neither is expensive, and far enough apart to be worth the arithmetic. A laptop, a desktop and a machine at a second desk is three devices: $19 here, $49 there. One device is $19 against $39.

The other half is what happens afterwards. Ours has no add-on and no second tier, so $19 is the last number. Theirs has an optional $2 a month billed annually for the Pro features, which is inexpensive and which is also a subscription — and if the polish is the reason you were buying it, the $39 is not the price.

The words are saved before the engine is asked anything

  1. 1Key downthe target is chosen here
  2. 2You speaklevel meter, over your work
  3. 3Key up
  4. 4Written to historybefore the engine is asked
  5. 5Engineon your Mac
  6. 6Typedabout half a second
Both apps transcribe on the machine, so the interesting question is not where the work happens but in what order. Step four finishing before step five starts is the difference between losing a paste and losing a sentence.

Release the key and the transcript is committed to your local history before the engine is consulted. This is an ordering guarantee rather than a recovery feature: the row exists first, and everything that could go wrong — a slow engine, a quit, a window that closed while you were speaking — happens afterwards.

BetterDictation's site does not describe an ordering guarantee, so this page will not tell you what it does under a failure. It tells you what ours does, and it is a one-minute test in either: dictate a long sentence, force-quit before the text lands, reopen, and look for it.

There is a history

History4 of them, on your Mac
  • 08:525.4sThe 2019 machine is still the one in the studio, and the archive lives on it.Pages
  • 09:307.7sTell the printer the cover stock changed and confirm the delivery date in writing.Mail
  • 10:112.9sAsk whether the licence covers the second desk or only the laptop.Slack
  • 11:0512.3sDraft for the newsletter: the archive is finally searchable and it took four years.Notes
What was said, how long it took and where it went, on your own disk. This is what makes a missed paste a copy-and-paste rather than a rewrite.

Every dictation is a row: the time, the length, the words, the destination. BetterDictation's site describes no equivalent, which does not mean it has none — it means this page can only report what is documented, and what is documented here is the list.

It is a plain feature and nobody buys an app for it. It earns its place on the days something goes wrong, and on the day you want back a sentence you phrased better an hour ago than you can phrase it now.

Where the text lands is decided at key-down

The destination is fixed the moment you press the key rather than when you release it. Clicking into another window mid-sentence — checking a number, rereading what you are answering — does not redirect the text. Where the accessibility API cannot place the words the fallback is a synthetic paste, after which your clipboard is put back, so the app does not quietly discard whatever you had copied.

None of these are large features. They are the sort of thing that gets decided carefully when a single keypress is the entire product, and they are the sort of thing you notice at volume rather than in a demo.

The part where they are the same

It would be dishonest to write two thousand words implying these apps are far apart. On the axis most buyers filter on, they are not.

Both are Mac-only dictation utilities. Both transcribe on your machine rather than sending audio to a service — their page says nothing ever leaves your Mac for the local dictation, and ours says the same. Both are bought once in a category that is mostly rented. Both put text into whatever application you were already using. Both will get proper nouns wrong sometimes, both will struggle in a noisy room, and both will be worse than typing for the first two days.

If you are choosing between these two specifically, you are choosing between two apps that agree about what dictation software should be. The disagreements are about hardware, price shape, language coverage, and what happens in the moments when something fails.

A fair way to test them

Because the products are close, the test has to be better than usual.

Do not compare them on a prepared sentence in a text editor. Both will do that well and you will learn nothing. Instead, pick the three applications you actually spend your day in — for most people that is a chat app, a mail client and one of a browser, an editor or a terminal — and dictate real work into them, at your normal speaking pace, with whatever noise is normally around you.

Then watch four specific things. How often is a name or a technical term wrong, and how much time does fixing it cost? Which of your three applications does the text not reach cleanly? Does the app start listening the instant you press the key, or does your first word vanish? And when something does fail, what is left behind — a recoverable row, or nothing?

The last of those is the one this page keeps returning to, and it is also the one you cannot evaluate in ten minutes. Give each of them a working week.

Run them a week apart rather than together, and if you must overlap, change one app's hotkey first. Both default to ⌥ Space and two apps on one key is the single configuration guaranteed to make both look broken.

What neither of them does

Neither controls your Mac. They type what you said; they do not switch applications, delete a paragraph or press a button because you asked. That is Talon's territory and Talon does it properly.

Neither transcribes recordings you already have. Both are for speech as it happens, and a folder of interviews needs a different sort of app.

And neither builds a personal vocabulary. Neither site describes learning your jargon over time, so the unusual surname you dictate every day will keep needing the same correction in both.

The one-time purchase, and what it actually promises

Both of these are sold once, in a category where most things are rented, and it is worth being precise about what "once" means because the word is doing a lot of work on both sites.

Ours means $19, three devices, updates included, and nothing that renews. There is no tier above it to be upsold into and no feature held back behind a monthly charge. If the app gains something next year, the licence you bought this year gets it.

Theirs is a lifetime licence at the tier you buy, with the Pro polish features available separately at $2 a month billed annually — three months of which come with the Flex and Studio tiers. That is a common and perfectly honest structure: the parts of the product that cost them money every month are the parts charged for every month, and the local parts are not. It does mean that "one-time purchase" and "the price" are two different numbers if the post-processing is what attracted you.

The general principle, which applies well beyond these two apps: when a product advertises a lifetime price alongside an optional subscription, work out which of the features you were actually buying it for, and check which side of the line they are on. That is a five-minute exercise that saves a lot of disappointment, and it is the reason both of the price sections on this page list the add-on as well as the licence.

Volume is what makes the small things matter

Everything in the "where we win" section above is small. A history you rarely open. An ordering guarantee you notice twice a year. A destination that does not move. A clipboard handed back. None of that sells an app in a demo, and it should not.

It matters because of how the habit actually forms. Almost everybody installs a dictation app intending to write something long with it, and almost nobody sticks with it for that. Long-form dictation is a skill, it takes weeks, and the early drafts are worse than what you would have typed. What survives is the short stuff: the reply in a thread you had been avoiding, the commit message, the two lines of context somebody needs before they can start, the note you write to yourself while walking to the kitchen. Those were never quite worth opening the keyboard for, so historically they got written badly or not at all, and speaking them takes four seconds.

That takes you from five presses a day to sixty within a fortnight, and at sixty the small properties compound. A destination that resolves on key-up misdirects one message in twenty. A clipboard that is not restored costs you something you had copied about once a week, always at the wrong moment. A warm-up delay eats your first word often enough that you start pausing before you speak, which is slower than typing and feels worse than typing. A sentence lost to a stall happens rarely enough to forget and often enough to be genuinely infuriating.

Judge both apps at that volume rather than at five presses a day. At five, the free dictation already in macOS is probably the right answer and neither of these is worth buying.

What switching between them costs

Nothing technical, whichever way you go. Dictation builds no library: the output went straight into other people's applications as you spoke, and it is now simply text in Slack, in Mail, in a document. There is no archive to migrate, no format to convert, and no file that only one of these two can open.

What it costs is a few days of reflex. A different key under a different finger, a pill in a different place, a slightly different pause before the words arrive. Nearly everybody who tries a new dictation tool and goes back goes back within three days, while the old habit is still winning, and they describe the reason as accuracy when what they mean is that it felt wrong. It did feel wrong. It was day two.

The practical advice, then, is the same in both directions: commit to a full working week, put the hotkey somewhere your hand can already reach, and do not run both apps at once while you decide. Ours gives you thirty days of the whole app before any money changes hands; theirs is a 14-day money-back guarantee after purchase. Either is long enough for a fair test if you actually use it.

Which one to buy

Buy BetterDictation if you write in several languages; if you want the output tidied and are content that the tidying uses a service and needs a connection; if you dictate long passages and want a toggle rather than a held key; or if you need more than three devices on one licence.

Buy Coii VoiceInput if your Mac is Intel, in which case it is the only one of the two that will run; if $19 for three devices is the shape you want, with no add-on and nothing recurring; if you want a local record of everything you dictated; and if an ordering guarantee that puts the words on disk before the engine runs is worth more to you than grammar polish.

Try before either if you have not dictated much: Apple Dictation is free and already installed, and a week with it will tell you whether you are a person who dictates. For the rest of the field, superwhisper is the larger local app, MacWhisper also transcribes recordings, and Wispr Flow and Aqua Voice are the subscription services with the features a hosted model makes possible.

The price is one number and the trial is thirty days with no card.

Questions

What does BetterDictation cost?
Checked 4 September 2026 on betterdictation.com: Basic $39 lifetime for one device, Flex $49 for three, Studio $149 for ten, plus a Pro add-on at $2 a month billed annually. Coii VoiceInput is $19 once for three devices.
Does BetterDictation run on Intel Macs?
No. Their FAQ states it is not supported on Intel Macs and relies on the Apple Neural Engine, so it needs an M1 or newer. Coii VoiceInput runs on macOS 13 or later on both Apple Silicon and Intel.
Do both work offline?
Both do the transcription on the Mac. BetterDictation's site says nothing ever leaves your Mac, and notes that its Pro post-processing uses OpenAI and needs internet access. Coii VoiceInput has no such tier.
They both use Option-Space. Is that a problem?
Only if both are installed and running. Two apps listening for the same hotkey is the one configuration that reliably breaks, so change one of them before trialling the other.
Which one has a history of what I dictated?
Coii VoiceInput writes every dictation to a local history before the engine is asked anything, so a paste that misses is recoverable. BetterDictation's site does not describe an equivalent list.