That is the fact this whole search usually skips past. System Settings has had a Dictation toggle for over a decade, it costs nothing, and Apple's own guide states you can dictate text of any length without a timeout, that it stops on its own after thirty seconds of silence, and that on Apple silicon you can keep typing while you speak. A large share of the people who end up comparing paid apps would be perfectly served by turning that on and never reading another word about it.
So the honest way to answer "Apple Dictation vs a third-party app" is not a single table with two columns, because "a third-party app" is not one thing. It is at least three different products wearing the same category label: a subscription platform that runs on four devices and learns your vocabulary, a local utility you buy once and that does one job well, and a voice-control layer that operates the whole machine rather than just typing into it. Which of those is worth paying for depends entirely on which specific thing Apple's free version is missing for you.
What is already on your machine, in Apple's own words
Checked 6 September 2026, from Apple's Dictation guide:
- Turned on in System Settings > Keyboard > Dictation, then Enable.
- Started with the Microphone key, a shortcut you set yourself, or Edit > Start Dictation.
- No length limit. Text of any length, stopping after thirty seconds of silence.
- Several languages, added in Keyboard settings and switched mid-sentence by clicking the language indicator or pressing the Globe key. Apple notes availability varies by language and region.
- On-device processing on Apple silicon, with a setting in Keyboard to check whether voice inputs are processed on the device rather than sent to Siri servers.
- Enabling Dictation offers to share audio recordings with Apple; you can decline.
That is not a stripped-down demo. It is a maintained feature of the operating system, and for someone dictating a text message or a short email a few times a week, it is the correct answer, full stop.
The three shapes a "third-party app" actually takes
The subscription platform
Priced monthly, running on several devices and operating systems, usually adding a learned vocabulary and sometimes a meeting notetaker. Wispr Flow is the example checked here on 6 September 2026: $0 free, Pro at $12/user/month billed annually or $15 monthly, and a Growth/Enterprise tier from $18/user/month for teams needing stronger security controls. It runs on Mac, Windows, iOS and Android, supports over a hundred languages, and lets you opt out of model training. Aqua Voice is the other one in this shape, adding real-time text refinement on its higher tiers.
The local, one-time-purchase utility
Bought once, running only on the Mac, doing one narrow job. Coii VoiceInput is in this group: $19 once, three devices, macOS 13 Ventura or later, a 30-day trial with every feature and no card. superwhisper and MacWhisper sit here too, though both are larger products that also transcribe existing recordings, and BetterDictation is dictation-only like this app but requires Apple silicon.
The voice-control layer
Not really a dictation app at all. Talon types prose as one of many things it can do, alongside clicking, scrolling, switching applications and running scripts entirely by voice, on macOS, Linux and Windows. Its own homepage leads with "Voice Control", "Noise Control", "Eye Tracking" and "Python Scripts" — none of which any dictation app, including this one, attempts.
A table across the shapes
Rows where Apple's version loses are marked as losses; the third-party column uses this app as the worked local example, since it is the one with a published, verifiable price.
| Apple Dictation | Coii VoiceInput | Wispr Flow (subscription) | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | Free | $19 once | $0–$15+/user/month |
| Already installed | Yes | No | No |
| Length limit | None | None | Not published |
| Platforms | macOS only | macOS only | Mac, Windows, iOS, Android |
| Languages | Varies by region | Several | 100+ |
| Learns your names and jargon | Not described | No | Yes |
| Local history of what you said | Not described | Yes | Not stated |
| Words saved before the engine runs | Not described | Yes | Not stated |
| Works with the network off | Documented for Apple silicon | Yes, after first run | Not offered |
| Account required | No | No | Yes |
Notice how few rows change between the free option and the $19 one. That is the point of this page: the gap between free and a subscription is enormous and multi-dimensional, and the gap between free and a $19 local utility is narrow and specific.
Where Apple Dictation wins outright
It costs nothing and it is already there. No trial to remember, no second menu bar icon, no licence. For light use this settles the question by itself.
Mid-sentence language switching. Apple's guide describes adding several languages and swapping between them while you are still dictating. None of the local one-time apps in this category match that gesture; Wispr Flow and Aqua Voice, being cloud services with wide language coverage, are the closer competitors on this specific row.
It travels to every Mac you sit down at. Because it is part of the operating system, it works on a borrowed laptop, a locked-down work machine, or any Mac you do not administer — nothing to install, nothing to license.
Where paying for something changes the outcome
If what you are missing is reach
If dictation needs to follow you onto a phone or a Windows machine, no local Mac utility answers that, including this one. That is squarely the subscription platforms' territory, and Wispr Flow's four-platform reach and hundred-plus languages are real, verifiable advantages over anything sold as a single-Mac app.
If what you are missing is durability
- 1Key downthe target is chosen here
- 2You speaklevel meter, over your work
- 3Key up
- 4Written to historybefore the engine is asked
- 5Engineon your Mac
- 6Typedabout half a second
Apple's guide describes dictation putting text where your cursor is; it describes no list afterwards. If a window closed before the text landed, or you dictated a strong paragraph into the wrong document and undid it twice, the words are gone the ordinary way anything unwritten is gone.
Coii VoiceInput writes every dictation to a local history the instant you let go of the key — before the engine is asked a single question. The failure mode becomes "the text is in my history and did not land," which costs a copy-and-paste, rather than "the text is gone."
- 09:124.8sConfirm with the printer that the cover stock change is reflected in the quote.Mail
- 09:402.6sAsk whether the Friday slot is still open for the walkthrough.Slack
- 10:039.1sDraft: the pilot slips to October because the data agreement is not signed yet.Notes
If what you are missing is a different price shape
$19 once against $180 a year for Wispr Flow Pro, or $96–$288 a year for Aqua Voice, is the same argument stated with different numbers: a subscription has running costs and is priced accordingly, and a local utility with none of that overhead can be priced once. Neither is a trick. What decides it is whether you would use the parts of the subscription that justify the recurring charge — the extra platforms, the learned vocabulary, the languages — or whether what you actually want is a key that types what you say.
If what you are missing is control of the machine, not just typing
Rerun the import with the dry run flag, then check the row count before it writes anything.
If the actual complaint is "I cannot use this computer without a keyboard," no dictation product — Apple's, this one, or any subscription platform — answers that fully. That is Talon's job, and its scripting and full voice control of clicking, scrolling and window switching go well beyond what any of the apps in this comparison attempt.
The question that actually separates these three shapes
It is worth stopping on one distinction before the tables, because it explains why "Apple Dictation vs a third-party app" cannot be answered with a single winner the way "app A vs app B" usually can.
Apple's Dictation and the local one-time utilities are trying to answer the same question in the same place: what happens between pressing a key and text appearing in the field you were already looking at. The subscription platforms are answering a broader question: what happens to your voice across every device you own, over months, as the software gets to know how you talk. And Talon is answering a third question entirely: what happens to the whole machine when your hands are busy or unavailable. None of the three is a bigger or smaller version of another — they sit on different axes, and a table that flattens them into one ranking would be lying about what it measured.
That is also why the honest recommendation on this page is not "buy the paid one" or "stay free." It is: name the specific thing missing, and go read the one comparison that is actually about that thing.
What a table cannot show: warm-up and variance
Every vendor in this category, free or paid, publishes or implies a speed claim, and almost none of them are comparable, because the usual measurement is taken on a fast machine, on a short, well-articulated phrase, in a quiet room. By that standard everything is fast, Apple's version included.
Two properties actually decide whether dictation survives a real working day, and neither shows up in a marketing number.
The first is whether the app is listening the instant you press the key. A warm-up delay eats your first word, and after that happens three or four times you start pausing deliberately before speaking, which is slower than typing and feels worse than typing. Apple's Dictation has an advantage here that no third-party app can fully match: it is part of the operating system, so there is nothing separate to launch. Coii VoiceInput aims to have the pill up and the level meter moving immediately, and about half a second after you release the key the words are there — but "nothing to launch at all" is still a real edge for the free option.
The second is what happens to a long sentence. Local software, Apple's included, tends to slow down with sentence length and with older hardware; a cloud service like Wispr Flow or Aqua Voice does not care about your CPU, but it does care about your connection, and a subscription platform that is fast on office fibre can stall badly on hotel wifi or a train. Neither failure mode is worse in the abstract. They are worse in different places, and the place you actually dictate from is the only fair test.
The week that actually decides it, whichever you try
The tables above make this read like a single decision made once. In practice it is a habit question, and the first week of any dictation tool — Apple's included — looks the same regardless of which one you picked.
The first two days are worse than typing. The hotkey or shortcut is not in your fingers yet, you compose sentences in written English instead of spoken English and they come out stilted, and you correct more than you save. Most people who conclude "dictation is not for me" conclude it here, on day one or two, regardless of which app they happened to try first — which is a shame, because the verdict was about the adjustment period, not the software.
By day four the shortcut is automatic and the sentences get longer, because you stop composing them in your head before you say them. Somewhere around then, most people find the actual use case, and it is rarely the one they expected. It is seldom long-form writing. It is the fifty short things a day that were never quite worth opening a document for: the Slack reply, the commit message, the note to yourself, the first two lines of an email you had been avoiding.
By the second week you are noticing failures rather than successes, which is the right time to judge anything on this page. How often does a name come out wrong? Which of your three most-used apps does the text not reach cleanly? What happens on the day your connection drops, or the app you were dictating into quits mid-sentence? Those answers are what you are actually buying, whether the price was zero or fifteen dollars a month, and none of them show up in a table.
What installing a third-party app actually costs you
Almost nothing technical, and the one real cost is worth naming plainly: two tools bound to the same keyboard shortcut will fight over it, and that is the single most common way a trial of a third-party app looks broken on day one. Apple's Dictation shortcut is set in System Settings under Keyboard; check it before installing anything, and change one side if they collide.
Beyond that, there is nothing to migrate. Dictation does not accumulate a library — the text went into whatever application you were using as you spoke. Trying a third-party app costs a Settings check, an install, and the patience to give a new hotkey a full week before judging it, since the first two days with any new dictation tool are reliably worse than typing.
One more thing worth checking before you decide
Whichever way you are leaning, it costs nothing to spend a week paying attention rather than deciding on the spot. Turn on Apple's Dictation if you have not already, put its shortcut somewhere your hand can reach without thinking, and notice the moments you wanted to speak instead of type and did not — because the app felt slow to start, because you were not sure the words would land where you meant, or because you simply forgot it was there. Those moments are exactly what a paid app, of any of the three shapes above, is being asked to buy back. If a week produces none of them, you likely have your answer already, and it did not cost anything to get it.
Who should stay on the free one
If you dictate a few times a week, if you switch languages inside a paragraph, if you need dictation on Macs you do not own or administer, or if you simply have not tried the built-in option for a real week yet — do that first. It costs nothing and it may be the whole answer.
Who should pay for something, and for what
Pay for a subscription platform if dictation needs to work on your phone or a Windows machine too, or a learned vocabulary and a hundred-plus languages are worth $12–$23 a user a month to you.
Pay for a local one-time app if you are on a Mac and only a Mac, nothing you dictate should leave the machine, and you want the words saved before anything downstream — a slow engine, a crash, a failed paste — can cost you the sentence. The full comparison against Apple's own dictation goes through this case row by row.
Look at Talon instead if the actual problem is typing at all, not just dictating prose — the comparison explains where that line sits.
For the rest of the field, Wispr Flow, superwhisper and MacWhisper are the other named comparisons, and a longer list of alternatives to Apple's own dictation sorts eight of them by the reason people actually go looking.
The trial is thirty days of the whole app, no card and no account, if a local one-time utility turns out to be the shape you were after.